Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (22) - TV Shows (1) - Books (5)

Big Eyes review

Posted : 2 years, 5 months ago on 20 July 2015 06:09 (A review of Big Eyes)

An excellent film, compact storytelling with an appropriate dose of Burton-esqe flair (Amy Adams starts to see those big eyes in her mind) which supports and does not detract from the story or character. Add in colorful shots of San Francisco and landscape and you've got a true art film which also has the fascinating angle of being based on a true story!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) review

Posted : 2 years, 11 months ago on 21 January 2015 08:17 (A review of Birdman: Or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance))

This is a fascinating film, with unassailable acting and with a deep sense that this is touching on something beyond just entertainment and fame. The mixture of sort-of single shot filming, live theater-feel, surrealism and suspense, it takes you on a ride that you don't want to get off of. Even the ending, which i'm not too sure about, keeps you guessing, and you kind of want to see multiple endings.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Telegraph Avenue: A Novel review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 16 January 2013 08:06 (A review of Telegraph Avenue: A Novel)

While i am a fan of what Michael Chabon does - big novels, ambitious stories with a distinct atmosphere in each one, characters with a certain mystique - for some reason i have trouble reading his stuff. I'm sure it's a problem on my part - i just don't get his cadence or something. Not sure. That said, despite my difficulties, the efforts are worth it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

This Is How You Lose Her review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 16 January 2013 07:27 (A review of This Is How You Lose Her)

Supposedly a collection of short stories, but i confess i didn't realize that and read it as though it were a cryptic novel with lots of holes. Despite my error, the book/stories was/were very satisfying, and there is a thread through many of the stories with the author's narrator Yunior. The colloquial language and character flaws of the author's narrator are very engaging, and i found myself chuckling at many a turn of phrase. I read an interview where the author indicated his other books and this one could be considered a "fragmented novel" with only parts of Yunior's life being revealed at a time.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Yellow Birds: A Novel review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 9 January 2013 06:13 (A review of The Yellow Birds: A Novel)

Deserving of all the accolades, a beautifully written novel about war and how it affects the young people stuck fighting it. Sure to stand the test of time, I think much of this book rises to the level of poetry. And yet, it is crafted so well you can breeze through like a paperback novel. This is definitely a book I will return to read again, something i rarely do.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Vessel review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 9 January 2013 06:09 (A review of The Vessel)

I am a fan of futuristic fiction, and (my friend, full disclosure) Rita weaves a gripping plot through an very satisfying, and frighteningly realistic future world. Not quite distopian, perhaps because it is very close to our current trends, and definitely not utopian, it's a world that we probably don't want, and yet we are working toward every day. You will enjoy the cutting sense of humor and the thought provoking future we are likely to live in soon. In fact, the book (written before the superstorm Sandy) presages the devastating storm that hit NY and NJ in surprising detail. Perhaps the future Rita paints is coming faster than we think.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Lost in Translation review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 19 August 2012 05:43 (A review of Lost in Translation)

Wow. I watched this again nine years after a first viewing. This is such a wonderful character exploration, location specific story telling, and a love story, and wonderfully shot to boot.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Crazy, Stupid, Love review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 19 August 2012 05:35 (A review of Crazy, Stupid, Love)

Mundane premise with fun acting that sells it. The characters, while stereotypical, are well executed. Steve Carell as the utterly sympathetic man losing his marriage is believable. His transformation from the even more stereotypical ladies man of Ryan Gossling is less so. Gosslings similar transformation is also unbelievable. That said, plot comes together well.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Old City Hall: A Novel review

Posted : 6 years, 3 months ago on 24 August 2011 01:34 (A review of Old City Hall: A Novel)

NOTE: The description is the right book, and release date, but the year in the title and he cover is wrong. I enjoyed this book for it's detailed scenescape of Toronto, which i just visited, in particular the majestic Old City Hall, which now functions as a courthouse. This murder mystery grips you right at the start and keeps things moving quickly with a varied cast of characters in the Toronto scene - radio hosts, politicians, police, Crown prosecutors and defense lawyers, and many more. It's a swiftly moving mystery with enough for everyone.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Wild Target review

Posted : 6 years, 3 months ago on 22 August 2011 04:06 (A review of Wild Target)

This film makes a whole lot more sense to me now that I learned it is a remake of a French film. It played a lot like a British farce play, with some no-so-subtle humor and outrageous characters. But it has an air of something stranger than your typical British farce. Despite the silliness, the acting of such excellent actors as Emily Blunt, Bill Nighy and the fantastic Rupert Everett make this a romp worth watching.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block